top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJesso

Color Me Pink with Creative Embellishments

Updated: Dec 2, 2022

Hello, my friends! Boy, do I have a treat for you today! There is a sweet story behind the piece we will learn to make today. My eldest son asked what would be a good gift to give his girlfriend for her birthday this year. She said she wanted something handmade with no other specifics. So I asked him questions to find out what she might like. He said she loves jars 🫙That got me thinking🤔 So then, I found out her favorite color is pink, her favorite flower is an orchid, and she loves music too. I told my son to go shopping in my craft room looking around. With a little guidance, he found these beautiful chipboard pieces, the box, the rice paper, flowers, castings, and other miscellaneous embellishments. Together we made what you see now. I got to say, what a blessing it is to have a young man such as himself come to his momma for help with this and to actually be completely invested in its end result.

Product list


**Let's get our floral on, shall we?!**


1. You'll want to begin by laying down a nice layer of decoupage glue

*Hint: I suggest applying your rice paper in sections

2. While that dries, alter your chipboard pieces using embossing powders

3. Next, you will gesso and paint your floral castings with brown impasto paint

4. After the box is completely dry, distress the edges using the same paint as with the castings

5. Use sparks paint to distress the raised surfaces of your castings

*Hint: This gives the piece some extra contrast

6. To add some extra flair to the edges, adhere some gold Dresden trimming

7. Begin assembling the layers starting with the castings

8. Then adhere your embossed chipboard pieces

9. Add flowers and stamen randomly where needed to fill spaces

10. For finishing touches, add some pretty adhesive pearls

*Hint: This gives the piece some extra class and a finished look


**Here are some close-ups for you to enjoy!!**


**I hope you enjoyed the story and the tutorial today!**

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page