top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJesso

Bloody Bones with Creative Embellishments

Today I have something different for your eyes to feast upon. A festive Halloween shadowbox scene using quite a few chipboard pieces to bring it all together. I was inspired by the skeleton in the inspiration photo, of course. But I obviously decided to take it in a whole different direction. The twist to the challenge was to use some old scrappy products. The paper elements are from an old collection I've had just chillin' in my craft room. I wanted to create outside the ordinary box, but also highlight the potential of the chipboard pieces in how they can help create scenes and rooms. The only thing stopping us is our imaginations.

Begin by cutting a wallpaper-styled background. I chose a textured paper giving it an extra dimension. Next, cut out the skeleton from paper twice, layered him, distressed him, and curled his fingers a bit to bring him to life. Giving the piece the feel of a room is the Chandelier which is altered using embossing power and clear sticker dots. Alter the Bones using some gloss heavy body bone-colored acrylic paint. Then distress them using black ink giving them more depth and dimension. Now you can lay everything down piece by piece. Use some acrylic paint to fill some miniature bottles. Let them dry a bit before plugging them closed permanently. Use some eyelet screws and chains to hang from the top of the box giving it an extra creepy feel. Can't forget about the outside, right?! Add some texture using a stencil of your choice. I used my own homemade texture paste and colored it gray using acrylic paint. Distress the texture using black ink. Finally, add some bone acrylic pieces to the floor of the room and skulls to the top. I used some jute string to tie together the smaller skulls. I thought this gave them an extra touch of creepy.


**Here are some close-ups for you to enjoy!**

**I hope you like my shadowbox scene. Thank you for taking the time to stop by today.**

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page