top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJesso

“Fairy Woodlands”

Hello everyone!! I would love to share with you my latest miniature scene! Yes! That is real wood! They are such unique pieces, aren't they?!?

Here’s to you Mother Nature! I was inspired this month by challenges urging me to create this wonderland. They are mentioned at the end of my post!

Remember when my family surprised me with a Michael’s shopping spree? Now do you remember, I told you there would be some games involved? Well...here we are! It’s hide and seek time! Can you tell me how many mushrooms and chipboard leaves are in this scene? Whoever answers correctly will get 10 additional entries in my next giveaway! I wish I could’ve gotten better photos... it took me hours just to get these! The glass creates a glare. I did my best! I hope you guys enjoy!

Materials Used:

Mother Nature: Wood pieces

Creative Embellishments: Autumn Leaves Set

7 Dots Studio: Garden Party

Michaels Stores: Ashland Miniatures

Hobby Lobby: Supermoss brand

Ranger Ink: Green embossing powders: Moss & Pine Needles

Wal-Mart: Tacky glue, E-6000, Gorilla hot glue

Tuesday Morning: Double-Sided tape

1. Begin by measuring your paper and cutting it out to fit all sides of the box

2. Adhere the paper using both double-sided tape and brushing on tacky glue

3. Lay down your bottom layer of grass using tacky glue

4. Start separating your moss into groups

5. Stuff your wood with some moss using hot glue

*Hint* Use various types, you want different angles to show off different characteristics

You want the wood to appear as if it's been there for years

. 6. Place your altered piece of wood using all glue types

*TIPS*

You don't want this piece budging a bit

Here's where it gets a bit tricky... patience is KEY

You're going to have to work around the wood to add all the characteristics to the scene

You want this to look as natural as possible

7. Add your miniature mushrooms

This is the fun part... hide and seek!

8. Add your next largest piece, the fairy using E-600

Again, work around her too

9. Now that the large elements are placed, emboss your chipboard leaves

10. Add the embossed leaves to the paper background to coordinate with the scene

Again.. another opportunity for hide and seek!

11. Now it's time to start adding moss, moss, and more moss using tacky glue

12. For the top layer of moss add using hot glue

*Tip* You want to loosen the moss a bit, assemble it to your liking

I realize we used a lot of adhesive... but, I promise you, you can flip this thing upside down and twirl it around... nothing will budge. The top moss is a little loose but, it stays and hangs the same.


I wish I could’ve gotten better photos... it took me hours just to get these! The glass creates a glare. I did my best! I hope you guys enjoy! Thank you so much for taking the time to stop by guys!


I am entering this miniature forrest scene into the following challenges:

Mixed Media Place: March's moodboard has encouraged me to create a mystical woodland. My inspirations for this project are based upon the wondrous photographs of Mother Nature, its beautiful florals, color palette, and curious nature of life.


Creative Embellishments: I am extremely inspired by this month's challenge at CE! The fantastical twist is to use a piece of wood! I do hope you guys enjoy my creation based off of your and one other challenge. Just look at this graphic... I bet you can see now how this graphic and the twist was so inspiring!!! I could I not come up with something conjured!?!

Mixed Media Academy: I just love this inspiration image. Thank you so much guys for the inspiration! This image made me really think outside the box... or in it whichever you prefer. I took this challenge seriously and hope you guys appreciate my tribute to thinking about Mother Nature and creating a tribute to her wonder.


Shopping Our Stash: They encourage us to use our stash, YAY! Thank you for your encouragement ladies! I used the chipboard pieces I've had in my stage for some time now. I had won them in a Fall themed giveaway.

52 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page