top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJesso

Floral Fantasy

Updated: Nov 14, 2018

Hello there you crafty beauty! Today I am playing along with Art Playground. Here is the link if you’d like to join us. Their inspiration and tips this month are awesome. Pop on over and check it out. https://www.artplaygroundblog.com/single-post/2018/11/01/NOVEMBER-PLAY---NEVER-ENDING-STORYArt

Their moodboard, as you can see, consists of soft shades of pink and green. Even though it’s fall, I wasn’t inspired by the spring season; after all, it’s really not that far away if you think about it. Hehe 😂 If our known me me, you know I love steampunk so, of course I had to add some gears ‘n such!



Product List:

Hobby Lobby - White Gesso: Masters Touch

My Rusty Crown: Creative Expressions Pop Em's - Hinges

MRC: Creative Expressions Pop Em's - Ornate Frames

MRC: Creative Expressions Pop Em's - Pocket Watch

Amazon: Prima Marketing Inc - Flowers - Misty Rose Collection

Sawdust - Courtesy of my father-n-law :)

Bamboo sticks - From an old sushi roller - don't worry it was covered :)

Lindy's Gang: Flat Fabio - Merry-Go-Round Green

Lindy's Gang: Flat Fabio - Raspberry Lemonade

Canvas Corp Brands: Tattered Angels Glimmer Mist -Money Bags-Discontinued

Jo-Ann Stores: Tim Holtz - Picked Raspberry

EK Success: Bling Rhinestones - A gift from a friend :)


Here we go! As you see here, I started off with a canvas I found at a thrift store and began laying down all my sticks and saw dust. Yes, you read correctly, sawdust!!

Make sure you let it dry completely before moving onto your next step. Isn’t it just lovely! I love using all-natural products for texture! You cant replicate this!

While I let my background dry (2hours) I begin putting a layer of white gesso on all my chipboard pieces.

Once it is done drying, I sprayed the base with these two colors. I like it but, I feel it could be brighter.

I felt the shades were a little too light so, I decided to spray more intense shades of the same colors. I love it!

Here are my goodies painted with the sprays. These girls will be placed in the top to middle of the canvas.

Then here are the others that will be placed on the bottom left-hand corner.

Neat trick! Fold the flowers twice to fill in any gaps you don’t like.

As you can see in this photograph the background is lighter. I decided I would use the dry brushing tip from the blog this month. I lightly brushed on white gesso in desired areas until I was happy. Here’s she is once she’s all embellished!

Here is a closer look at all those fun details!

I hope you enjoyed your time here. Thank you for stopping by!

31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page