top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJesso

"Passionate Bones" with Academy of Scrapbooking and Arts

Pink, pink, pink!! It's all about PINK this month at the Academy of Scrapbooking and Arts! How exciting is this, right?! It's such a versatile color. Pink doesn't always have to be used to make pretty works of art. As you can see, I decided to live life on a creative edge this month. Today I hope to get you to go outside your comfort zone and work with some unusual products. It's not every day you see skull and bones mixed with pink so simply like this. I have accustomed myself to making complex mixed media designs, so, one of my additional challenges is to create more simply. I hope you will follow along with me today and be inspired.

Inspiration Photo


Product List

Prima Marketing/Finnabair Studio


Let's get our crafty spunk going!


1. You will want to begin by laying down a line of both colors of impasto paints

Hint: Using different paintbrushes pull the paint to the edges of the canvas on both sides

2. While that dries begin altering all your castings using black gesso and wax

3. Once the surface is dry, splatter it with some watered down black gesso

4. Distress the edges of the canvas using black gesso and a dauber sponge

5. Begin adding the castings one by one starting with the wings

6. Now lay down the bones to the edges of the canvas

Hint: I used some cardboard to raise certain pieces to keep them stabilized

7. Find some chipboard quotes and add those to the canvas


***It may have been short and sweet, but it was a wicked good time, right?!***


***Here are some close-ups for you to enjoy***

I hope you enjoyed your time with me today. Until next time, stay creative everyone!

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page