top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJesso

Rusty Under-water Adventures with Creative Embellishments

Hello, all my crafty beauties! We have another inspiring month for you at Creative Embellishments Blog. It's all about underwater creatures and steampunk! What an awesome twist! Add gears and/or cogs, done! A Little backstory behind these pieces, I started these canvases almost three years ago. Can you believe it?! Yes, they have been sitting in my craft room for that long. So I made it a point this year to finish them. I don't know what it was about the layout that blocked me time and time again. I used a lot of beautiful chipboard pieces found in the shop to create them. I started by putting down my Steampunk Mermaid,Steampunk Mermaid 1, Steampunk Pipe Frame, Steampunk Octopus, Pipe Works pieces first to create a base layout. From there, I began laying down my Gears 1 1/2, Gear Set 2 Medium, Loose Parts pieces. Once all my chipboard pieces were down, I painted the surfaces with black gesso. While those dried, I painted my resin pieces with the same black gesso. I then laid down the resin gears. I used four different colors of rust paste randomly to create the final look. For finishing touches, I used some black gesso to distress the edges and added some chipboard quotes.

Product List

Prima Marketing/Finnabair Studio


***Let's go on an under-water crafty adventure together***


1. Start by putting down your focal point pieces to create a base layout

2. For the second layer, put down your other gear and part pieces

3. Once your chipboard pieces were down, paint the surfaces with black gesso

4. While those dry, paint your resin pieces with the same black gesso

5. Now lay down the resin gears

6. Use texture pastes, starting with the darkest color first, to give it that rusty under-water look

**Hint: I used four different colors of rust paste randomly to create the final look

7. I then used some waxes randomly to give it a metallic look

8. For finishing touches, I used some black gesso to distress the edges and chipboard quotes


**Here are some close-ups for you to enjoy**

**I hope you enjoyed your time with me today! Keep on swimmin'!**

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page