top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJesso

"Steampunk Meet Flower Power"

I bet you are wondering what those piston looking things are on the canvas... Well, I have a friend who smokes e-cigarettes. One day I witnessed her throwing away the beautifully made cartridge!! I told her hey! If you’re not using those, can I have them?!? She looked at me, with a question mark almost wanting to ask what my interest was in them, then said .. “ohhhh knowing you... who knows! And she agreed!!!! So, I have a ton of those things! Here is my first creation using them!!


When I began making this piece, my journey was explosive! I instantly began thinking of colliding worlds bursting at the seams. Let us go on a crafting journey together and get lost! Let's travel down the rabit hole we go and see where this adventure leads us today! I just love how this piece turned out!

Product List:

Wal-Mart-Daler & Rowney “8 1/2 x “11 canvas

Prima Marketing: Heavy Black Gesso

Prima Marketing: Heavy White Gesso

Creative Embellishments: Steampunk Clock & Gear Cluster

Creative Embellishments: Loose Parts

My Rusty Crown-Prima Marketing Inc: "Moonchild" Mulberry paper flowers

My Rusty Crown-Prima Marketing Inc: Finnabair Metallique Wax Vintage Gold

My Rusty Crown-Prima Marketing Inc: Finnabair Melange Art Pebbles

My Rusty Crown-Prima Marketing Inc: Re-Design Mould Elisian Clockworks

My Rusty Crown-Prima Marketing Inc: Finnabair Antique Brilliance Amethyst Magic

My Rusty Crown-Prima Marketing Inc: Finnabair Decor Mould Cogs & Wings

Amazon Prime-Prima Marketing Inc: Iod Vintage Art Decor Moulds Keyholes

Lindy's Stamp Gang: Witch's Potion Purple

Shimmerz Paints: Vivacious Violet

Hobby Lobby-Ranger Ink-Tim Holtz: Ideology Word Bands

Hobby Lobby-Ranger Ink-Tim Holtz: Ideology Quote Bands

Tuesday Morning: American Crafts - Gold Embossing Powder

Tacky Glue


This piece like so many of my other pieces has to be done in layers. It takes clear vision to create pieces like this one.

1. The first step is to lay down your background elements such as the e-cigarette cartridges and chipboard pieces

2. Next step is to apply a generous coat of black gesso

3. Once that is dry highlight raised areas with white gesso

*Tip* Make sure that the black gesso is dry prior to applying the white. You don't want gray


4. Once the white gesso is dry, begin using your sprays.

*Accidental Find* I had applied a layer of purple wax to the entire canvas prior to spraying it. This is where the water droplet look comes into play.

5. Heat-set this canvas directly in outside sunlight

6. While it dries emboss the loose parts chipboard pieces and spray the mould pieces


7. Once the canvas is done drying, begin placing your next layer of 3D elements using tacky glue

8. When they settle use your gold wax to highlight the mould surfaces

9. Now it's time to add the third layer of embellishments which are the flowers and butterfly


10. Finally, to finish it off add gold glitter glass to desired areas

As always, I thank you for sharing your time with me! Thanks for stopping by today! I look forward to seeing you next time!

I am entering this piece into the following challenges:

We went down the rabit hole and mixed two worlds together!

Leaves were used in this project and were altered to suit the creation and to fit this color challenge


62 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page