top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJesso

"Winter's Wishing Angel" with Academy of Scrapbooking and Arts

Hello everyone! Today I am inspired by the winter season, florals, and happiness. It's traditional around this time of year we wish everyone we know wellness and happiness in the new year. In the spirit of this tradition, I made a canvas with an angel as the focal point. I did this because I am sending you a wishing angel this year. Don't mind the sparkles, those are just remnants left as reminders of your blessings. I am challenged this month to create using only a black and white mood board! This is quite a challenge for me!! As most of you all know, I love color lots of it too. I hope you enjoy my interpretation of the mood board and are inspired to join us this month at the Academy of Scrapbooking and Arts Blog. There is never enough inspiration.


Product List:

Prima Marketing/Finnabair Studio

Icicles: From my stash

Flowers: From my stash


***Let's get our craft on, shall we?***

1. Start by altering all your chipboard pieces and flowers using heavy white gesso

***Hint: Heavy gesso prevents you from having to apply multiple layers of gesso to get true white

2. While that settles, dry brush some white gesso on the canvas itself

3. Apply the panel straight to the canvas using your favorite adhesive

4. Use some heavy black gesso to paint your angel and castings. Also, splatter the canvas

5. Now distress the chipboard panel with some black ink

***Hint: Since the chipboard piece is white the black ink will give it a distressed dark gray color

6. With the same ink, distress the edges of each flower and chipboard pieces

7. Use some silver wax on the outermost and top layers only, use the same wax on your feathers

***Hint: The wax will highlight the angel making it the focal point

8. Now begin laying down your elements beginning with the feather chipboard pieces

9. Then lay down the feather castings, wings, angel, lastly the flowers and icicle limbs

10. Add some snow paste to the flowers, top corner, and wings with a sprinkle of glitter


**It may seem like a lot, but in mixed media, it's all about layering. It's not hard. You got this!**


***Here are some close-ups for you to enjoy***

I hope you enjoyed your time with me here today!

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page