top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJesso

Winter Wonderland

I just love the winter season! Snow is beautifu, just looking at it twinkle under the midday sun is just so inspiring. How about a winter shadowbox scene!! Ooo and so much fun it was to create! Come along with me, let’s get messy!!


Product List:

Hobby Lobby: Tim Holtz-Wooden Boxes

Hobby Lobby: Tim Holtz-Stars

Hobby Lobby: Gesso

Hobby Lobby: Liquitex Matte Gel Medium

Hobby Lobby: Liquitex Gloss Medium Varnish

Jo-Ann Fabrics: Tim Holtz-Distress Ink-Tea Dye

Wal-Mart: Apple Barrel Acrylic Paint-Navy Blue

Target: Wood Veneers-Reindeer

Creative Embellishments: Winter Wonderland

Creative Embellishments: Christmas Swirl Tree

Creative Embellishments: Trees

DCWV: Snow paper-I’ve had in my stash

Wrapping paper: From last years’ presents

Husband: Cut wooden present boxes


We will start out with two simple boxes. I glued together using wood glue. Honestly, I did let this set for a day or two before I was able to get back to it but, drying time is around six hours.

Fun, fun, fun!!! So much glitter!! I feel like a unicorn!! I embossed the word sentiment and the tree with the silver powder. I decided against using any other colors than white, silver, and blue.

Yay! Texture time!! I love adding texture and dimension to my projects! Here I am using a TH stencil and Ranger Ink texture paste. I cover the entire sheet in splatters. It looks like snow!!! I just love this beginning!

I wanted there to be some contrast between the box and the background. As you see I decided to go with a navy blue.

I wanted to ensure the paper would stay in place. So, just to be sure I layered the back with tacky glue and the front with matte gel.

I wanted everything to sparkle!! So, I used some matte gel and covered all surfaces.

Here’s where it gets a bit messy! I used my own homemade texture paste and pulled it out of my jar by my index finger and began placing it where I thought snow would rest.

It’s coming along!! Here’s are the cute reindeer after I distressed them with some TH ink.

I know, right!? Yes, I am using both wrapping paper and scrapbooking paper to wrap these wooden blocks I asked my husband to cut for me. As you see, I wrapped them as you would any other present. Though, I will say, I did take extra precautions in rubbing in the tape to the wood, going with the grain, and paper so they don’t come undone.

Here’s are several of them after I wrapped them.

Here is the finished product after adding some bows to those cute little presents I made!



I hope you enjoyed the tutoria! Thank you for stopping by!

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page